Comments on the reading/Advert

Posted: January 19, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

PLEASE NOTE THIS POST IS NOT ONE FROM THE NAMES ON THE LIST.  IF YOU COMMENT HERE, YOU MIGHT NOT GET CREDIT.

 

After the reading it really captured my interest to see what types of adverts I could find without words.  I do agree with the writing that visuals can help aid with rhetoric, but I also find that symbolism is not an intrinsic property.  Even adverts with the most basic of text still involve text.  So I took up the internet on all it had to offer me and came up with these results.  Seeing as it took me a moment to look up (and i’m sure I wasn’t the only one thinking about the claims made), I decided to post about it.

 

It seems that, for the most part, the ideas we take from adverts without words require plenty of background knowledge of the symbols in play.  The words are even devised for context and understanding, even the most simple of ideas. I found this webpage with “No Words | Advertising.”  If you click this link —>   You will <— you’ll notice they lied: for the most part, anyway.  The magazine brain, whilst interesting, strikes only the idea that “magazines are on the brain.”  But are they for the magazine company or in general?  The site points out that it is a specific company posting the advert.  The second is the picture from the World Wildlife Fund, which means “don’t put trees in a circle, because they’ll all fall on top of each other.

 

So I decided to post the two adverts i found that i don’t believe need words.  The first requires a warrant of linking cigarettes to lung cancer.  The second requires a more obvious, yet still inferred, logic of paper towels causing deforestation.  For the record, I am aware both include words.  However, the effectiveness would still be evident without them.

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

