Two posts in one

Posted: February 25, 2014 in Uncategorized

I didn’t think we had to post our topic after talking to Dr. Stillman Web after class the other day.  However, it looks like we do.

My project will look to answer the question “Which next gen game system is right for me?”  I have lots of friends who fight over what new gaming console is the best one, so I am looking at the releases of the X-Box 360, PS3, Wii/WiiU, and PC (Including downloadable major releases (not games from the prior consoles in the line.  For example, it will not count the ability to download Super Mario World from the SNES on the Wii) from Nov of 2012 – Dec 2013 (as of now.  I will probably be adding more throughout the weeks) in order to try and find the console’s nitch, or, at least, original content.   I will have them split into twelve categories (Action, First Person Shooter, RPG, Sports, etc).  Then, within those graphs, I will include what games are exclusive to the console.  Much like the bit from the McCandless graph where he had “what we expected the war to cost” within “what the war cost.”

My Data is all in Excel as I have been using several sites to pull it together.  So enjoy the Playstation 3 sheet.  Along the top is an ongoing count of the number within the genre as well as the total (then, for my own curiosity, the average releases per genre as well as a happy little pie chart).

Nov 2012-Dec 2013 PS3 Releases

Nov 2012-Dec 2013 PS3 Releases

Leave a Reply

